Back to overview

«Great achievements are only possible with the most talented individuals.»

 

Patrick Sege
Vontobel Asset Management

Patrick Sege is Head of Swiss Intermediary and Sustainable & Thematic Sales at Vontobel Asset Management AG in Zurich. Before joining Vontobel, Patrick gained a doctorate in economics and worked at the US asset management firm Affiliated Managers Group (AMG) as Country Head for Switzerland, Austria and Liechtenstein with responsibility for business development and client relationship management.

 

Patrick Sege, what drove you to do what you do today?

Working in sales management at an asset management firm allows me to combine the clear structure of financial theory models with human, behavioural aspects. Having opted to study economics, I’ve always felt at home with numbers, but financial market theory can’t ignore the human psyche. It has a huge influence on markets, and this is investigated, for example, in the field of behavioural finance. Without the human factor, economic models are problematic. This was made clear most recently during the 2008 financial crisis, when many financial market players and managers doggedly kept faith in the absolute accuracy of statistical models, even though human behaviour had already begun to undermine them. On top of this, we in asset management can play a part in addressing the financial needs of an aging population. Pension funds depend on strong and sustainable management of their assets to help their members achieve their aim of a comfortable retirement. We can genuinely add value in this respect.

What does success mean to you?

For me, career success is measured in terms of achieving ambitious goals. I’m a big fan of targets that are easy to understand and measure as they leave little scope for interpretation and are unambiguous in their purpose. If you set your targets clearly enough, it’s easy to tell the difference between success and failure. This means that you can’t hide from failure, but it also means that success is indisputable and demands a just reward. I take a slightly different view when it comes to personal success. The key thing for me here is not attaching too much importance to individual days, which can naturally vary a lot in terms of how happy you feel. Instead, I strive to be fundamentally happy and comfortable with myself in every phase of my life.

What is it that motivates you?

As a performance-oriented person, what really motivates me is continually mastering challenges and achieving goals. One of my biggest motivational factors is delivering results that are equally satisfying for us as a company and for our team members.

What are your guiding/leadership principles?

I’ve read quite a few books on leadership and management over the course of my career, but many of them are superficial and littered with generalisations. They lack any idea of practical implementation. That’s why I was so impressed with “Lessons in Leadership” by Colin Powell, former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff in the US military. I think the principles he lays down stand out through their practicability. Three in particular remain etched in my mind: 1. The day your troops stop confiding in you is the day you stop being their leader. 2. Listen to the people who “bring in the beans”, not those who merely count them. 3. Organisation alone achieves nothing, and neither do plans. Any endeavour succeeds or fails because of the people involved. Great achievements are only possible with the most talented individuals. In the end, you need to be able to put your strategies into practice in the real world. Colin Powell was head of the US Army, so he can teach us a thing or two here.

What would you ask Warren Buffett over dinner?

Mr Buffett, you’ve been investing actively and with a great deal of success for 50 years, but there are still people who say it’s just luck – after all, a roulette ball in a casino could theoretically land on the same colour 50 times in a row. What do you have to say to them?

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

I’m a passionate golfer, even though I don’t exactly rank among the best with my handicap of 20. Focusing on the ball helps me to live in the moment rather than thinking about the future like I usually do.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today?

I often get asked this question by junior colleagues. My answer is derived from Colin Powell’s principles: get yourself a solid grounding and “bring in the beans”, i.e. concentrate on the core business of an asset manager, for example in portfolio management or distribution. In other words, develop skills that have a direct impact on a firm’s bottom line – that’s where you can add the most value and earn good rewards.

What are you thankful for?

Living in Switzerland. This isn’t just patriotism, it’s also because this country provides an excellent framework for self-determination in my career and my life generally.

What was your favourite subject at school?

This might sound a little stuffy, but it was Latin. It’s often ridiculed as being a useless “dead language”, but it actually combines linguistic creativity with systematic logic. It’s also the linguistic, historical and cultural bedrock of our continent, and there are plenty of valuable things you can learn from it.

What background image do you have on your phone?

My wife and our two children. When work stress threatens to get the better of me, I just look at the picture, and it puts everything in perspective for me.

Back to overview

Retour à l'aperçu

«Seuls les meilleurs talents permettent d’accomplir de grandes choses.»

 

Patrick Sege
Vontobel Asset Management

Patrick Sege occupe aujourd’hui les fonctions de Head of Swiss Intermediary and Sustainable & Thematic Sales chez Vontobel Asset Management SA à Zurich. Economiste diplômé, il a travaillé précédemment au sein d’Affiliated Managers Group (AMG), un groupe américain d’Asset Management. Responsable pays pour la Suisse, l’Autriche et le Liechtenstein, il avait en charge le développement commercial et le suivi des relations d’affaires dans ces pays.

 

Patrick Sege, qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé dans la voie qui est la vôtre aujourd’hui?

Travailler à la direction de la distribution d’une entreprise d’Asset Management me permet de combiner, d’une part, la structure rigoureuse des modèles fondés sur la théorie financière et, d’autre part, la composante humaine, béhavioriste. Pour mes études, j’ai choisi la gestion d’entreprise, de sorte que je manie les chiffres avec aisance. Mais les théories des marchés financiers ne valent rien si l’on ne prend pas en compte le psychisme humain, qui influe fortement sur l’évolution des marchés – c’est ce qu’explore la «behavioral finance». Les modèles qui excluent l’homme sont problématiques en économie. On l’a vu récemment lors de la crise financière de 2008: bien des acteurs des marchés financiers, bien des dirigeants se sont cramponnés à des modèles statistiques dont l’exactitude était à leurs yeux absolues, alors que le comportement humain l’avait déjà relativisée. Par ailleurs, dans l’Asset Management, nous contribuons à répondre aux besoins financiers d’une population vieillissante. Les caisses de pension n’ont d’autre choix que de gérer leurs avoirs de manière durable et performante, afin d’être à la hauteur des attentes de leurs bénéficiaires et de leur permettre de vivre leur vieillesse dans de bonnes conditions. Dans ce domaine, nous avons une réelle valeur ajoutée à apporter.

Le succès, c’est quoi pour vous?

Sur le plan professionnel, c’est d’atteindre des objectifs ambitieux. A cet égard, je suis un grand adepte des objectifs concrets et mesurables, car ils laissent peu de place à l’interprétation et sont ainsi sans ambiguïté. Quand le but est identifié clairement, succès et échec se distinguent clairement. Cela signifie certes que l’échec est impossible à dissimuler, mais aussi que le succès est inattaquable et mérite d’être reconnu à sa juste valeur. Sur le plan personnel, je vois les choses un peu différemment. J’essaye de ne pas m’arrêter au sentiment de bonheur que me procure chaque jour, car ce sentiment peut être très variable! Je m’efforce plutôt d’être globalement heureux et en accord avec moi-même à chaque phase de ma vie.

Quel est votre moteur?

Par nature, je suis axé sur la performance. Donc ce qui me motive vraiment, c’est de relever sans cesse de nouveaux défis et d’atteindre mes objectifs. Un de mes principaux facteurs de motivation est d’obtenir des résultats satisfaisants à la fois pour nous en tant qu’entreprise et pour les membres de notre équipe.

Quels sont les principes qui vous guident en matière de conduite?

Au cours de ma carrière, bien sûr, il m’est arrivé de lire des livres sur le management. Mais beaucoup restent superficiels et sont truffés de lieux communs. Ce qui manque, c’est l’aspect pratique. C’est pourquoi les «Lessons in Leadership» de Colin Powell, qu’il a tiré de son expérience de chef d’état-major des forces armées américaines, m’ont profondément impressionné. Ces principes sont remarquables à mes yeux en raison de leur caractère pratique. Trois d’entre eux, en particulier, sont restés gravés dans ma mémoire: 1. Si tes troupes cessent de te confier leurs soucis, c’est que tu as cessé d’être leur chef. 2. Ecoute ceux qui rapportent les fruits à la maison («bring in the beans») et pas ceux qui se contentent de les compter. 3. L’organisation à elle seule ne mène à rien. Les plans non plus. Ce sont les personnes impliquées qui font la réussite ou l’échec de nos efforts. Seuls les meilleurs talents permettent d’accomplir de grandes choses. Enfin, les stratégies doivent pouvoir être mises en œuvre concrètement. Colin Powell a été à la tête de l’armée des Etats-Unis et il a quelques leçons à nous donner.

Imaginons que vous dîniez avec Warren Buffet. Quelle question aimeriez-vous lui poser?

Cher Monsieur Buffet, vous investissez depuis cinquante ans sans relâche, et non sans succès. Pourtant, certaines personnes continuent de penser que votre réussite relève du pur hasard – comme si, au casino, la boule pouvait s’arrêter cinquante fois de suite sur la même couleur. Que répondez-vous à cela?

Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

Je suis un passionné de golf, même si mon handicap de 20 ne me classe pas parmi l’élite! Me concentrer sur la balle m’oblige à être pleinement dans le présent, sans chercher à planifier l’avenir comme je le fais le plus souvent.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune qui débute dans l’Asset Management?

C’est une question que mes jeunes collègues me posent souvent. Ma réponse découle des principes de Colin Powell: acquiers une solide formation et «bring in the beans», c’est-à-dire concentre-toi sur le cœur de métier d’un Asset Manager, par exemple la gestion de portefeuille ou la distribution. En d’autres termes: développe des compétences qui boostent directement le compte de résultat de l’entreprise – ainsi, tu génèreras une valeur ajoutée maximale et tu en seras récompensé.

De quoi êtes-vous reconnaissant?

De vivre en Suisse. Non par pur patriotisme, mais en raison des conditions exceptionnelles que l’on trouve dans ce pays pour agir et vivre en toute autonomie et en toute liberté.

Quelle était votre matière préférée à l’école?

Au risque de paraître un peu vieux jeu: le latin. Souvent dédaigné parce que jugé inutile, le latin n’en est pas moins une belle combinaison entre créativité de la langue et logique systématique. Sans compter qu’au moins pour notre continent, il constitue un socle linguistique, mais aussi historique et culturel, riche de précieux savoirs.

Qu’avez-vous en fond d’écran sur votre téléphone mobile?

Ma femme et nos deux enfants. Quand je sens que le stress du quotidien professionnel risque de me faire perdre le cap, je regarde cette photo – et tout va pour le mieux dans le meilleur des mondes.

Retour à l'aperçu