Back to overview

«I like calculable risks.»

 

Mirjam Staub-Bisang
BlackRock

Mirjam Staub-Bisang is the head of BlackRock’s Swiss business. She took up her post in November 2018 and also acts as Senior Advisor for Sustainable Investing. Mirjam has around 20 years’ financial experience, primarily in asset management. After gaining a doctorate in law and starting her career as a lawyer, she went on to become an analyst for capital market transactions and M&A and a hedge fund market development manager at major international banks. She also handled private equity investments for a Swiss insurer. In 2005, Mirjam founded Independent Capital Group, an asset management and consulting firm specialising in sustainable investment, together with her brother. She was responsible for its operative management until 2018. She has chaired the board of a Swiss pension fund since 2017. Mirjam lives with her husband Martin Bisang, co-founder of Bellevue Group, and their three children by Lake Zurich.

 

Which values underlie your day-to-day actions, decisions, plans?

Sustainability is very important to me. It starts in the home and extends to the whole of the global economy. Society increasingly expects private and public corporations to address urgent social and economic issues, so those that pursue their purpose while taking a responsible attitude towards stakeholders will profit from this over the long term. BlackRock’s CEO Larry Fink also said this at the start of 2019 in his annual letter to the heads of the companies BlackRock’s clients invest in. A company’s purpose is not solely to make a profit, but it is the driving force that makes profits possible.

What is it that motivates you?

The idea of long-term investment. Our clients entrust their money to us, and we aim to live up to this responsibility by supporting them over the long term. Continuity plays a central role here. On the one hand, we manage clients’ retirement capital held in pension funds on a fiduciary basis. On the other, we offer investment solutions that help them to grow their savings over time. It’s important to raise awareness – especially among younger people – of the need to start putting money aside for retirement at an early stage. The Swiss certainly take this issue more seriously than many other nations, as shown by the BlackRock Global Investor Pulse survey. According to the survey, around two thirds of people here, or more precisely 69%, have made arrangements for their retirement. I’m also a firm believer in the benefits of sustainable investing. By taking environmental, social and governance aspects into account when making investments, we can not only make a positive contribution to society, but also significantly reduce portfolio risk and increase long-term returns. A number of studies show that sustainable investing doesn’t detract from returns at all – in fact, it leads to better results in the long run because companies that are managed sustainably steadily increase in value.

What are your goals – both in terms of your career and personally?

In both my private life and my career, I believe it’s important to take calculable risks. Before I make a big decision, I take care to weigh up the possible scenarios and gauge the opportunities and risks involved, particularly in the worst-case scenario. The decisive question I ask myself is “Am I prepared to accept this risk?” This approach has always guided my work. In asset management, clients are trusting you to take care of large sums of money, which is a huge responsibility as much of it is intended to fund people’s retirement.

Have you ever regretted a career decision?

No. I actually think each stage in my career has built on the previous ones. My work in the legal profession, for example, gave me a keen eye for detail, which helps when it comes to analysing investor profiles or conducting due diligence for investment opportunities. From my time as a banker in M&A, corporate finance and private equity, I know how to harness the potential of illiquid investments in private markets such as infrastructure and real estate. The focus on sustainable investing I had as head of my own asset management company is becoming ever more important as sustainable strategies grow in popularity.

What do you enjoy most in your job, what least?

It’s the diversity that excites me about what I do. BlackRock’s clients have a range of different needs. We manage whole investment portfolios or individual segments for pension funds and insurers, while private banks use our investment products as components in wealth management for their clients. We offer actively managed and indexed investment solutions and access to equity, fixed-income and multi-asset strategies as well as illiquid private markets like private equity, private debt, infrastructure and real estate. On top of all this, there are overarching strategic themes such as sustainable investing, technological solutions in asset management and day-to-day work as part of a global network of investment experts. Each of these aspects goes to make up a challenging, diverse and thus, in my opinion, interesting working environment.

What are your guiding/leadership principles?

The phrase “you always meet twice” can be applied to all interpersonal and business relationships. It means that, even when there are differences of opinion, you don’t “burn your bridges”. That way, you can still enjoy mutual respect in the future. It requires magnanimity and tolerance.

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

By spending time with my family. I’m at home for breakfast and dinner as much as possible. That sometimes means getting up earlier or working after the kids have gone to bed. Exercise is also an important way for me to clear my head, especially jogging with our dog.

What can you not do without?

It may sound strange, but I can’t do without work. It’s probably in my genes – after all, my mother worked until she was 85.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today or your younger self?

People are getting more and more stressed by hyperconnectivity, the expectation that they should be available all the time and a growing flood of information. To combat all of that, I recommend consciously avoiding multitasking. It makes us inefficient, forces us to spread ourselves too thinly and reduces our cognitive performance. The answer is serial monotasking: organising your time into periods in which you can focus intensively on a single task. This produces better results and makes work more rewarding.

What are you thankful for?

The fact that our society is becoming increasingly egalitarian. At the start of my career, for example, there were very few women in management positions, particularly in the financial sector. Things have improved a lot since then. These days, women have career opportunities that would have seemed unthinkable ten or twenty years ago.

What is more important to you as you get older, and what is less important?

I think resilience towards stress is generally becoming more important in our society, i.e. the physical strength to handle stressful life situations. Even in middle age, when the combined stress of work, children and parents is at its greatest, this resilience can still be trained. Mindfulness exercises and meditation can really help. When it comes to the daily grind, measures you can take include deliberately steering clear of multitasking.

What book are you reading at the moment?

Since strategic issues feature heavily in my work at the moment, I’m reading “Blue Ocean Shift” by INSEAD Professors W. Chan Kim and Renée Mauborgne. It describes an approach for developing corporate strategies in which sector-specific assumptions are called into question with the aim of escaping competition in existing, hard-fought markets to tap into new ones.  

Back to overview

Retour à l'aperçu

«J’aime les risques calculables.»

 

Mirjam Staub-Bisang
BlackRock

Mirjam Staub-Bisang est responsable pays de BlackRock Suisse. Elle exerce ces fonctions depuis novembre dernier et est aussi Senior Advisor for Sustainable Investing. Mirjam Staub-Bisang a derrière elle une vingtaine d’années d’expérience dans le secteur financier, plus spécifiquement dans l’Asset Management. Juriste diplômée, elle a débuté sa carrière au barreau. Elle a ensuite été analyste spécialisée dans les transactions sur les marchés des capitaux et les fusions et acquisitions ainsi que responsable de marché dans le domaine des hedge funds au sein de grandes banques internationales, puis chargée des investissements en Private Equity dans un groupe suisse d’assurance. En 2005, Mirjam Staub-Bisang a fondé avec son frère la société de gestion de fortune et de conseil Independent Capital Group, spécialisée dans les placements durables, dont elle a assuré la direction opérationnelle jusqu’en 2018. Depuis 2017, elle était aussi Présidente d’une caisse de pension suisse. Elle et son époux, Martin Bisang, cofondateur du Bellevue Group, ont trois enfants. La famille vit au bord du lac de Zurich.

 

Sur quelles valeurs reposent vos actes au quotidien, vos décisions, vos projets?

La gestion durable, c’est très important pour moi. Cela commence à la maison pour atteindre la dimension de l’économie mondiale. La société attend de plus en plus des entreprises publiques et privées qu’elles s’emparent des grandes questions sociales et économiques. Dès lors, celles qui se montrent à la hauteur de leur objet et de leur responsabilité envers les parties prenantes tireront les marrons du feu. C’est d’ailleurs ce que le CEO de BlackRock, Larry Fink, a fait valoir début 2019 dans sa lettre annuelle aux administrateurs des sociétés dans lesquelles les investisseurs de BlackRock détiennent des participations. L’objet d’une entreprise ne se limite pas à la recherche du profit, il faut aussi lancer le moteur qui permettra d’atteindre ce but.

Quel est votre moteur?

Valoriser l’idée du placement financier à long terme. Nous sommes des fiduciaires et nous nous tenons durablement aux côtés de nos clients, pour qui nous assumons cette responsabilité. La continuité, c’est essentiel dans notre domaine. D’une part, nous gérons à titre fiduciaire le capital de prévoyance de nos clients, déposé auprès de caisses de pension. D’autre part, grâce à nos solutions de placement, nous les aidons à investir leur épargne et à la faire fructifier à long terme. Il est important de sensibiliser davantage les gens – et notamment les jeunes – à la nécessité d’organiser sans retard leur prévoyance vieillesse financière. Il est vrai que les Suisses prennent cette question plus au sérieux que beaucoup d’autres: selon notre BlackRock Global Investor Pulse, environ deux tiers de nos concitoyens – très exactement 69% – épargnent en vue de leur retraite. Par ailleurs, je suis profondément convaincue des avantages de l’investissement durable. Ce que l’on appelle en anglais le «Sustainable Investing», c’est-à-dire le fait d’investir en respectant des principes écologiques, sociaux et de gouvernance, est capable non seulement d’apporter une contribution sociale positive, mais aussi de réduire nettement le risque du portefeuille et d’accroître ainsi le rendement sur la durée. Comme le montrent de nombreuses études, qui dit investissement durable ne dit pas pertes de rendement, bien au contraire: à long terme, on obtient même de meilleures performances. Car pour une entreprise, une gestion durable entraîne un accroissement de la valeur.

Quels sont vos objectifs – aux plans professionnel et privé?

Dans les deux cas, il est important à mes yeux de prendre des risques calculables. Cela m’amène à m’interroger avant toute grande décision: quels sont les scénarios possibles? Quels sont les opportunités et les risques liés à chacun d’eux – et surtout au scénario du pire? La question décisive que je me pose alors est la suivante: suis-je prête à courir ces risques? Cette approche est aussi une de mes lignes directrices dans le cadre professionnel, et pour cause: dans l’Asset Management, on gère à titre fiduciaire les avoirs des clients. Ces avoirs sont dédiés en grande partie à la prévoyance vieillesse financière de leurs propriétaires, ce qui fait peser sur nos épaules une lourde responsabilité.

Vous est-il arrivé de regretter une décision que vous aviez prise dans le cadre professionnel?

Non. Je pense au contraire que chacune des étapes de ma carrière m’a permis d’atteindre la suivante. Mon activité de juriste, par exemple, m’a appris à être très attentive aux détails, ce qui est précieux pour analyser des profils d’investisseur ou, en cas d’opportunités de placement, pour effectuer la procédure de due diligence. De mon expérience de banquière spécialisée dans les fusions et acquisitions, la Corporate Finance et le Private Equity, j’ai retenu combien les investissements illiquides sur les marchés privés – infrastructures et immobilier notamment – sont riches d’opportunités et quels sont les aspects importants à prendre en compte. En tant que cheffe d’entreprise indépendante dans le domaine de l’Asset Management, je me suis focalisée sur les placements financiers durables, ce qui se révèle utile à l’heure où ces stratégies de placement gagnent en importance.

Qu’est-ce qui vous plaît le plus – et le moins – dans votre travail?

C’est la diversité qui, à mes yeux, fait le charme de mon métier. Les clients de BlackRock n’ont pas tous les mêmes besoins. Pour les caisses de pension ou les assurances, nous gérons l’ensemble du portefeuille de placement ou certains compartiments. Les banques privées, quant à elles, utilisent nos produits dans le cadre de leurs activités de gestion de fortune. Nous proposons des solutions de placement gérées activement et fondées sur un indice, nous donnons accès à des stratégies actions, obligations et multi-asset, mais aussi à des marchés privés illiquides dans divers domaines: Private Equity, Private Debt, infrastructures, immobilier, etc. S’y ajoutent des sujets stratégiques globaux comme l’investissement durable et des solutions technologiques en matière d’Asset Management, sans oublier le travail quotidien au sein d’un réseau mondial d’experts en placement. Chacun de ces aspects contribue à créer un environnement de travail exigeant, diversifié, et par là même intéressant selon moi.

Quelles sont vos lignes directrices en matière de conduite?

Il y a une maxime qui s’applique à toutes les relations humaines privées ou professionnelles: «Tous les chemins finissent par se recroiser». Autrement dit, même en cas de divergences, il faut se comporter de manière à ne pas laisser une «terre brûlée» derrière soi et à permettre des rencontres ultérieures apaisées et respectueuses. Cela suppose de la générosité et de la tolérance.

Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

La vie de famille. Dans la mesure du possible, je m’efforce d’être à la maison pour le petit déjeuner et le dîner. Donc je n’hésite pas à me lever tôt, ou alors je travaille le soir quand les enfants sont au lit. Le sport, surtout le jogging avec notre chien, est également très important pour moi, ça me libère l’esprit!

Y a-t-il quelque chose qui vous soit indispensable au quotidien?

Ma réponse va vous surprendre: le travail. Il est sans doute inscrit dans mon ADN. D’ailleurs quand ma mère a cessé de travailler, elle avait 85 ans...

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune qui débute dans l’Asset Management?

Les gens se sentent de plus en plus débordés – l’hyperconnectivité, la disponibilité permanente, le flot d’informations, c’est épuisant. Pour remédier à cela, mon conseil est de renoncer sciemment au multitasking. Car le multitasking est source d’inefficacité, d’éparpillement et de perte de performance cognitive. En revanche, le monotasking sériel crée des plages de temps pendant lesquelles on peut se consacrer à une tâche donnée avec concentration et efficacité. Les résultats sont meilleurs et le travail apporte dès lors de grandes satisfactions.

De quoi êtes-vous reconnaissante?

Du fait que l’égalité des chances devienne une réalité dans notre société. Par exemple, au début de ma carrière, rares étaient les femmes à exercer des fonctions dirigeantes, surtout dans la finance. La situation s’est nettement améliorée depuis lors. Aujourd’hui, les femmes voient s’ouvrir des perspectives professionnelles qui auraient été inimaginables pour elles il y a seulement dix ou vingt ans.

Avec le temps, qu’est-ce qui gagne – ou perd – de l’importance à vos yeux?

La résilience face au stress est de plus en plus importante dans notre société, me semble-t-il. On entend par là la capacité de résistance psychique qui permet de surmonter les épisodes difficiles. Même en milieu de vie, alors que l’activité professionnelle, les enfants, les parents sont extrêmement prenants, on peut cultiver sa résilience, grâce notamment à des exercices de pleine conscience et à la méditation. Dans le cadre du travail, renoncer au multitasking est un bon début!

Quel livre lisez-vous actuellement?

Comme les questions stratégiques sont au cœur de ma réflexion professionnelle en ce moment, je lis «Stratégie Océan Bleu» de W. Chan Kim et Renée Mauborgne, tous deux professeurs à l’INSEAD. Cet ouvrage présente une méthode de développement de stratégies d’entreprise où l’on remet en cause les postulats communément admis, dans le but de se retirer des marchés concurrentiels très encombrés et d’ouvrir de nouveaux marchés.

Retour à l'aperçu