Important notice

Due to current developments in connection with the corona virus and based on the new recommendations of the Cantons of Zurich and Geneva, we have decided to postpone this event. As soon as the situation has calmed down, we will fix a new date.

We are looking forward to welcoming  you on the alternative date and thank you for your understanding.

Asset Management Platform

 

****

 

The Asset Management Greenhouse Event series, hosted by the Asset Management Platform Switzerland, connects investment professionals that share common values and support the goal of making Switzerland an even more attractive location for both asset managers and investors.

 

Short-term profit vs. long-term sustainable development -
How asset managers influence corporate development

Many listed corporations have recently fallen under pressure from investors who demand better financial results – in the short term, no less. But can the meaning and purpose of companies be purely short-term and monetary? How much influence should investors be able to exert for the sake of short-term interest, if they endanger the company’s long-term development in the process?

On the one hand, companies must implement forward-looking strategies efficiently and profitably. And when they do so, their shareholders profit from higher share prices. On the other hand, public expectations have risen. Globally active corporations are expected to live up to the principle of sustainability, to be world leaders in innovation, to offer secure and well-paid jobs, and to be committed to social and societal responsibility. In short, they should simultaneously create value for shareholders, employees, customers, suppliers and the public, and foster their long-term satisfaction and loyalty.

Today, the vast majority of shares in large listed companies are held by institutional investors, namely pension funds, insurance companies, mutual funds and hedge funds. We discuss with experienced experts and explore the question of how asset managers can influence corporate performance.

Speakers and panelists:

  • Lorenz Arnet, CEO, Asset Management Platform
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Binder, Director Corporate Governance Center, University of St.Gallen (HSG)
    Brief biography
  • Christoph Müller, CEO, Inrate AG
    Brief biography
  • Christopher Greenwald, Head of Sustainable and Impact Investing Research and Stewardship, UBS Asset Management Brief biography
    Brief biography
  • Moderation: Regula Faeh O'Neal, UBS Switzerland AG

 

ZURICH

Date: tbd

Konferenzgebäude UBS, Grünenhof
Nüschelerstrasse 9
8001 Zurich

This event is free of charge and will be held in German and English.

 

GENEVA

Date: tbd

Credit Suisse Forum Genève
11-19, Rue de Lausanne
1201 Geneva

This event is free of charge and will be held in English.

 

Note: All already registered participants were informed about the cancellation by email.

Note importante

En raison des développements actuels en rapport avec le coronavirus et sur la base des nouvelles recommandations des cantons de Zurich et de Genève, nous avons décidé de reporter cet événement. Dès que la situation se sera calmée, nous fixerons une nouvelle date.

Nous nous réjouissons de vous accueillir à la date alternative et vous remercions de votre compréhension.

Asset Management Platform

 

****

 

La série Asset Management Greenhouse Event, organisée par l'Asset Management Platform Switzerland, met en lien les professionnels de l'investissement qui partagent des mêmes valeurs et qui ont pour objectif d’augmenter l’attractivité de la Suisse pour les assets managers et les investisseurs.

 

Profit à court terme vs. développement durable à long terme -
Comment les asset managers influencent le développement des entreprises

De nombreuses entreprises cotées en Bourse ont subi récemment la pression des investisseurs, qui exigeaient – sans attendre – de meilleurs résultats financiers. Mais la finalité d’une entreprise peut-elle être purement monétaire et à court terme? Dans quelle mesure faut-il que les investisseurs puissent promouvoir des intérêts à court terme si, ce faisant, ils mettent en péril le bon développement de l’entreprise à long terme?

D’une part, les entreprises doivent mettre en œuvre des stratégies porteuses de manière efficace et profitable. Et lorsqu’elles le font, leurs actionnaires bénéficient de meilleurs cours de Bourse. D’autre part, les exigences du grand public vont croissant. On attend des entreprises internationales qu’elles respectent le principe de durabilité, qu’elles soient à la pointe de l’innovation mondiale, qu’elles offrent des emplois sûrs et bien rémunérés, qu’elles assument leur responsabilité sociale et sociétale. Bref: qu’elles créent de la valeur à la fois pour leurs actionnaires, leurs collaboratrices et collaborateurs, leurs clients, leurs fournisseurs, sans oublier le grand public, et qu’ainsi elles assurent la satisfaction et favorisent la loyauté de tous à long terme.

Aujourd’hui, les actions des grandes entreprises cotées en Bourse sont détenues en grande majorité par des investisseurs institutionnels, notamment des caisses de pension, des compagnies d’assurance, des fonds en actions et des hedge funds. Nous discuterons avec des experts chevronnés et nous demanderons comment les asset managers peuvent influer sur le développement des entreprises.»

 

Orateurs et panélistes:

  • Lorenz Arnet, CEO, Asset Management Platform
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Binder, Directeur Corporate Governance Center, University of St.Gallen (HSG)
    Brève biographie
  • Christoph Müller, CEO, Inrate AG
    Brève biographie
  • Christopher Greenwald, Responsable de Sustainable and Impact Investing Research and Stewardship, UBS Asset Management
    Brève biographie
  • Modération: Regula Faeh O'Neal, UBS Switzerland AG

 

ZURICH

Date: tbd

Konferenzgebäude UBS, Grünenhof
Nüschelerstrasse 9
8001 Zurich

L'événement se déroulera en allemand et en anglais. La participation à l'événement est gratuite.

 

GENÈVE

Date: tbd

Credit Suisse Forum Genève
11-19, Rue de Lausanne
1201 Genève

L'événement se déroulera en anglais. La participation à l'événement est gratuite.

 

Note: Tous les participants déjà inscrits ont été informés de l'annulation par e-mail.