Back to overview

«The future of asset management is data-driven.»

 

Frederick Widl
AXA Investment Managers (Switzerland)

Frederick Widl is Head of Real Assets at AXA Investment Managers (Switzerland) and a member of executive management. Under his leadership, AXA IM manages a real estate portfolio in Switzerland worth CHF 16 billion. AXA’s most recent projects include Steinbock, a multifunctional development in Chur; Hello Lenzburg, an apartment block with a modular wooden structure that won the NZZ Trend-Radar prize; and the visionary new Haus zum Falken by the architect Santiago Calatrava next to Zurich’s Stadelhofen station. Its construction will begin this year. Frederick joined AXA IM Real Assets Switzerland in 2011 as a project manager. He became Head of Transactions for Switzerland and Eastern Europe in 2013 and Country Head of Real Assets Switzerland in January 2019. Before moving to AXA, he worked as a developer with Strabag Real Estate in Vienna. Frederick studied architecture at TU Wien and real estate finance at the University of Cambridge. He lives with his family in Zurich.

 

Frederick Widl, what does success mean to you?

Visiting a finished building with my team is a great experience. From having the first idea and choosing a suitable project to developing and implementing the strategy and ultimately completing the build, we have to get to grips with a lot of complex interactions, phases and tasks. For me, success means mastering all of these steps together with the team and bringing a project to fruition.

What are your guiding/leadership principles?

Actions speak louder than words. I try to set an example for my team so they know what I expect. At the same time, a culture of open and honest feedback, transparency in all activities and direct communication is also very important to me. My door is always open, and I encourage my staff to come to me with bold and unconventional ideas.

What drove you to do what you do today?

Back when I was studying architecture, I realised that an architect doesn’t normally have enough information to develop a building that meets all stakeholders’ needs. For example, he might not know the demand and profitability situation on the market in question. I’m interested in handling every aspect of a building – planning, architecture, usability, materials, environmental factors and financial viability –, so I made the switch to the “owner” side.

What importance do you attach to social media?

Social media are the communication tool of the future, and I attach importance to them as such. Sites like LinkedIn are an increasingly useful source of information and provide a simple and fast means of communicating specific topics to various interest groups and communities. What’s more, these communities guarantee direct, immediate feedback.

What do you enjoy most in your job, what least?

What I enjoy most is developing visions and strategies for new projects and putting them into practice. At the moment, there isn’t anything I don’t enjoy. I look forward every morning to facing the day’s challenges with my team’s support.

Which problems should politicians and authorities urgently address?

Besides climate change and energy transition, pensions are one of the biggest problems. They need to be modernised and adapted to take account of rising life expectancy as well as new ways of living and working such as part-time work and extended sabbaticals. I also see the digital transformation and the shift in job profiles that comes with it as a challenge for Switzerland. Generally speaking, we need to preserve the qualities that have made Switzerland so prosperous and not overregulate our job market and private sector. We also need to maintain dependable relationships with neighbouring countries.

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

A hectic job like mine doesn’t leave me with much free time. My family provides the balance.

What can you not do without?

I appreciate good food and time spent with friends immensely, and I hope that I’ll never have to do without either.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today?

I’d advise learning how to code. The digital transformation is in full swing, and the future of asset management will be heavily data-driven. Analysing data and coding the algorithms that aid decision-making will be extremely important jobs going forward. To manage a large investment portfolio like that of AXA IM Real Assets efficiently, it’s essential to make strategic use of a wide range of data, and this requires a high degree of automation.

What is your favourite travel destination in Switzerland or abroad?

Outside Switzerland, I love the French Atlantic coast south of Bordeaux. It’s an outstanding region for surfing and fine wines. I generally like being in the mountains a lot, hiking in the summer and skiing in the winter. Of course, Switzerland has plenty to offer in this regard. I’ve been to many different places in Switzerland, and I can’t wait to discover more.

What are you thankful for? 

My health and my family.

If you could choose any country, where would you like to live and why?

Zurich combines small-town charm with a broad scope of exciting career opportunities. It’s compact, so getting from A to B doesn’t take long, and the fact that it’s close to nature and the mountains, has a lake and is full of green spaces makes it ideal for me. Zurich offers the advantages of a big city without the drawbacks and, as such, is a dream of a place to live.

Back to overview

Zurück zur Übersicht

«Die Zukunft des Asset Managements ist datengetrieben.»

 

Frederick Widl
AXA Investment Managers (Schweiz)

Frederick Widl ist Leiter Immobilien der AXA Investment Managers (Schweiz) und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung. Unter seiner Leitung verwaltet AXA IM in der Schweiz ein Immobilienportfolio im Umfang von 16 Mrd. CHF. Zu den jüngsten Projekten gehören der multifunktionale «Steinbock» in Chur, das «Hello Lenzburg», welches mit seiner Holzmodul-Bauweise den NZZ Trend-Radar gewonnen hat, sowie der Neubau des visionären «Haus zum Falken» von Architekt Santiago Calatrava am Stadelhofen. Dessen Bau beginnt dieses Jahr. Frederick Widl stiess 2011 zu AXA IM Real Assets Schweiz, wo er zuerst als Projektmanager arbeitete. 2013 wurde er Head of Transactions für die Schweiz und Osteuropa, im Januar 2019 Länderchef Immobilien Schweiz. Davor arbeitete er als Immobilien-Entwickler beim Immobilienunternehmen Strabag Real Estate in Wien. Frederick Widl studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität Wien und Real Estate Finance an der University of Cambridge. Er lebt mit seiner Familie in Zürich.

 

Frederick Widl, was ist für Sie Erfolg?

Mit dem Team ein fertiges Gebäude zu besuchen ist ein tolles Erlebnis. Von der ersten Idee und der Auswahl des geeigneten Projekts über die Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Strategie bis zur Vollendung eines Bauprojekts sind viele komplexe Interaktionen, Phasen und Arbeiten zu bewältigen. All diese Schritte gemeinsam mit meinem Team zu meistern und ein Projekt zum erfolgreichen Abschluss zu bringen, das ist Erfolg für mich.

Welche Leitsätze/Führungsprinzipen verfolgen Sie?

Taten sind wichtiger als Worte. Ich versuche das vorzuleben, was ich von meinem Team erwarte. Dabei sind mir eine offene und ehrliche Feedback-Kultur, Transparenz in allen Aktivitäten und eine direkte Kommunikation sehr wichtig. Meine Tür ist immer offen, und ich ermutige meine Mitarbeitenden, auch mutige und unkonventionelle Ideen einzubringen.

Was hat Sie dazu bewegt, das zu tun, was Sie heute tun?

Bereits in meinem Architekturstudium habe ich erkannt, dass ein Architekt normalerweise zu wenig Informationen hat, um ein Gebäude zu entwickeln, das den Anforderungen aller Stakeholder entspricht. Es fehlen ihm etwa die Marktparameter hinsichtlich Vermietbarkeit und Rentabilität. Da es mich interessiert, ein Bauprojekt in all seinen Facetten – Planung, Architektur, Zweckdienlichkeit, Materialien, Umweltkomponenten und Wirtschaftlichkeit – zu betreuen, bin ich auf die Seite des «Eigentümers» gewechselt.

Welchen Stellenwert haben soziale Medien für Sie?

Soziale Medien sind das Kommunikationsmittel der Zukunft, und ich weise ihnen einen entsprechend hohen Stellenwert bei. Medien wie beispielsweise LinkedIn dienen immer mehr zur Informationsbeschaffung, und spezifische Themen können verschiedenen Interessensgruppen und Communities einfach und schnell vermittelt werden. Diese Communities garantieren auch direkte, spontane Feedbacks.

Was macht Ihnen an Ihrem Job am meisten Spass, was am wenigsten?

Am meisten Spass bereitet mir, Visionen und Strategien für neue Projekte zu entwickeln und sie umzusetzen. Zurzeit gibt es nichts, was ich nicht gerne mache. Ich freue mich jeden Morgen, die täglichen Herausforderungen zusammen mit dem Team in Angriff zu nehmen.

Welche Probleme sollten Politik und Behörden rasch angehen?

Neben dem Klimawandel und der Energiewende ist die Altersvorsorge eines der dringendsten Probleme. Diese muss modernisiert und an die steigende Lebenserwartung, aber auch an neue Lebens- und Arbeitsformen wie Teilzeit oder Erwerbsunterbrüche angepasst werden. Daneben sehe ich auch eine Herausforderung in der digitalen Transformation der Schweiz und die damit einhergehende Veränderung von Job-Profilen. Ganz generell müssen wir dem Erfolgsmodell Schweiz Sorge tragen und unseren Arbeits- und Wirtschaftsstandort nicht überregulieren. Zudem sind wir auf verlässliche Beziehungen mit unseren Nachbarländern angewiesen.

Wo finden Sie in Ihrer Freizeit den Ausgleich?

Mit einem hektischen Job bleibt mir nicht gerade viel persönliche Freizeit. Ausgleich suche und finde ich im Kreis meiner Familie.

Auf was könnten Sie in Ihrem Leben nicht verzichten?

Ich schätze gutes Essen und das Zusammensein mit Freunden enorm, und ich hoffe, dass ich nie darauf verzichten muss.

Was würden Sie heute einem Berufseinsteiger im Asset Management empfehlen?

Ich würde ihm dringend empfehlen, programmieren zu lernen. Die digitale Transformation ist in vollem Gange, auch die Zukunft des Asset Managements wird sehr stark datengetrieben sein. Die Datenanalyse und das Programmieren von Algorithmen, welche die Entscheidungsfindung unterstützen, werden künftig von grösster Bedeutung sein. Um ein grosses Investitions-Portfolio wie das der AXA IM Real Assets effizient zu betreuen, ist die zielgerichtete Verwendung einer Fülle von Daten unabdingbar – und das kann nur mit einem erhöhten Automatisierungsgrad erfolgen.

Wie heisst Ihr liebstes Reiseziel in der Schweiz oder im Ausland?

Im Ausland liebe ich die französische Atlantikküste südlich von Bordeaux. Das ist eine ausgezeichnete Region zum Wellenreiten und für guten Wein. Generell bin ich sehr gerne in den Bergen – im Sommer zum Wandern, im Winter zum Skifahren. Die Schweiz hat diesbezüglich natürlich sehr viel zu bieten. Ich war schon an vielen verschiedenen Orten in der Schweiz und freue mich auf weitere Entdeckungstouren.

Wofür sind Sie dankbar? 

Für meine Gesundheit und für meine Familie.

Wenn Sie ein Land aussuchen dürften: wo würden Sie am liebsten leben und wieso?

Zürich vereint das Leben in einer Kleinstadt mit tollen und vielfältigen beruflichen Herausforderungen. Die Stadt ist kompakt, man kommt in kurzer Zeit von A nach B. Die Nähe zur Natur und zu den Bergen, der See und die vielen Grünflächen sind ideal für mich. Zürich bietet die Vorteile einer Grossstadt – ohne deren Nachteile – und ist sicherlich ein Wunschort.

Zurück zur Übersicht