Important notice

Due to current developments in connection with the corona virus and based on the new recommendations of the Cantons of Zurich and Geneva, we have decided to postpone this event. As soon as the situation has calmed down, we will fix a new date.

We are looking forward to welcoming  you on the alternative date and thank you for your understanding.

Asset Management Platform

 

****

 

The Asset Management Greenhouse Event series, hosted by the Asset Management Platform Switzerland, connects investment professionals that share common values and support the goal of making Switzerland an even more attractive location for both asset managers and investors.

 

Short-term profit vs. long-term sustainable development -
How asset managers influence corporate development

Many listed corporations have recently fallen under pressure from investors who demand better financial results – in the short term, no less. But can the meaning and purpose of companies be purely short-term and monetary? How much influence should investors be able to exert for the sake of short-term interest, if they endanger the company’s long-term development in the process?

On the one hand, companies must implement forward-looking strategies efficiently and profitably. And when they do so, their shareholders profit from higher share prices. On the other hand, public expectations have risen. Globally active corporations are expected to live up to the principle of sustainability, to be world leaders in innovation, to offer secure and well-paid jobs, and to be committed to social and societal responsibility. In short, they should simultaneously create value for shareholders, employees, customers, suppliers and the public, and foster their long-term satisfaction and loyalty.

Today, the vast majority of shares in large listed companies are held by institutional investors, namely pension funds, insurance companies, mutual funds and hedge funds. We discuss with experienced experts and explore the question of how asset managers can influence corporate performance.

Speakers and panelists:

  • Lorenz Arnet, CEO, Asset Management Platform
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Binder, Director Corporate Governance Center, University of St.Gallen (HSG)
    Brief biography
  • Christoph Müller, CEO, Inrate AG
    Brief biography
  • Christopher Greenwald, Head of Sustainable and Impact Investing Research and Stewardship, UBS Asset Management Brief biography
    Brief biography
  • Moderation: Regula Faeh O'Neal, UBS Switzerland AG

 

ZURICH

Date: tbd

Konferenzgebäude UBS, Grünenhof
Nüschelerstrasse 9
8001 Zurich

This event is free of charge and will be held in German and English.

 

GENEVA

Date: tbd

Credit Suisse Forum Genève
11-19, Rue de Lausanne
1201 Geneva

This event is free of charge and will be held in English.

 

Note: All already registered participants were informed about the cancellation by email.

Wichtiger Hinweis:

Aufgrund der aktuellen Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus und basierend auf den neuen Empfehlungen der Kantone Zürich und Genf haben wir beschlossen, diese Veranstaltung zu verschieben. Sobald sich die Situation beruhigt hat, werden wir einen neuen Termin festlegen.

Wir freuen uns, Sie am Alternativtermin zu begrüssen und danken Ihnen für Ihr Verständnis.

Asset Management Plattform

 

***

 

Die von der Asset Management Plattform Schweiz veranstalteten Greenhouse Events verbindet Anlageexperten, welche die gleichen Wertvorstellungen vertreten und das Ziel verfolgen, die Schweiz zu einem noch attraktiveren Standort für Asset Manager und Investoren zu machen.

 

Kurzfristiger Gewinn vs. langfristig-nachhaltige Entwicklung –
Wie Asset Manager die Unternehmensentwicklung beeinflussen

Viele börsenkotierte Unternehmen sind in jüngster Zeit von Investoren unter Druck geraten, die bessere finanzielle Ergebnisse fordern – und das mitunter auch kurzfristig. Aber kann der Sinn und Zweck von Unternehmen rein kurzfristig und monetär sein? Wie viel Einfluss sollen Investoren im Interesse kurzfristiger Interessen ausüben können, wenn sie dabei die langfristig gesunde Entwicklung des Unternehmens gefährden?

Einerseits müssen Unternehmen zukunftsweisende Strategien effizient und profitabel umsetzen. Und wenn sie dies tun, profitieren ihre Aktionäre von höheren Aktienkursen. Andererseits sind die Ansprüche der Öffentlichkeit gestiegen. Von global tätigen Unternehmen wird erwartet, dass sie dem Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit nachleben, dass sie weltweit führend in der Innovation sind, dass sie sichere und gut bezahlte Arbeitsplätze bieten und dass sie sich zu sozialer und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung bekennen. Kurzum: Sie sollen gleichzeitig Wert schaffen für Aktionäre, Mitarbeitende, Kunden, Lieferanten und die Öffentlichkeit und deren langfristige Zufriedenheit und Loyalität fördern.

Heute wird die grosse Mehrheit der Aktien grosser börsenkotierter Unternehmen von institutionellen Anlegern gehalten, namentlich von Pensionskassen, Versicherungen, Aktienfonds und Hedgefonds. Wir diskutieren mit erfahrenen Experten und gehen der Frage nach, wie Asset Manager die Unternehmensentwicklung beeinflussen können.

Referenten und Panel-Teilnehmer:

  • Lorenz Arnet, Geschäftsführer, Asset Management Plattform
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Binder, Direktor Corporate Governance Center, Universität St.Gallen (HSG)
    Kurzbiografie (PDF)
  • Christoph Müller, CEO, Inrate AG
    Kurzbiografie (PDF)
  • Christopher Greenwald, Leiter Sustainable and Impact Investing Research and Stewardship, UBS Asset Management
    Kurzbiografie (PDF)
  • Moderation: Regula Faeh O'Neal, UBS Switzerland AG

 

ZÜRICH

Datum: tbd

Konferenzgebäude UBS, Grünenhof
Nüschelerstrasse 9
8001 Zürich

Diese Veranstaltung ist kostenlos und wird in Deutsch / Englisch gehalten.

 

GENF

Datum: tbd

Credit Suisse Forum Genève
11-19, Rue de Lausanne
1201 Genf

Diese Veranstaltung ist kostenlos und wird in Englisch gehalten.

 

Hinweis: Sämtliche bereits angemeldete Teilnehmer wurden von uns per eMail über die Absage informiert.